GOVERNING BODY OF BOXGROVE C OF E PRIMARY SCHOOL

Our Governing Body consists of 9 members and operates with a committee structure. The core functions of our governing body, as set out in The School Governance (Roles, Procedures and Allowances) (England) Regulations 2013, are:

- ensuring that the vision, ethos and strategic direction of the school are clearly defined;
- ensuring that the head teacher performs his or her responsibilities for the educational performance of the school; and
- ensuring the sound, proper and effective use of the school's financial resources.

The statutory purpose of the Governing Body is to promote high standards of educational achievement at the school.

The day to day management of the school is the responsibility of the Headteacher and staff, whereas the governors are responsible for the general direction of the school and providing a strategic overview.

The Governing Body acts as a critical friend to the school and ensures accountability, whilst considering the interests of children, parents and staff. It makes decisions about curriculum, finance, staffing and premises matters, to help raise standards of achievement and to make sure that the school provides a good quality education for all of our pupils.

Full name of Governor	Governor Category	Date of current Appointment or Election	Source of Appointment (where appropriate)	Term of office/Roles within GB	Attendance at full GB Meetings* 09/10/2019 03/12/2019 (cancelled) 14/01/2020 20/05/2020 14/07/2020	Committee membership+	Attendance at committee meetings*	Declarations on register of business & pecuniary interest / details of governorships at other schools	Remarks
Reverend Ian Forrester	Foundation	16/03/1999 – 15/03/2030	Diocese	Chair Safeguarding	4/4	Finance & Staffing	2/2	Nil	
Ms Jan Agostini	Foundation	01/09/2018 -	Diocese		1/1	Premises		Nil	Term ended in January 2020
Mrs Layla Clifford-Brown	Parent	03/04/2017 – 02/04/2021	Elected by parent body	Link Governor Pupil Premium SENCo	3/4	Teaching & Learning		Nil	
Mrs Jacqui Dommett	Headteacher	02/09/2019			4/4	Finance & Staffing	2/2		

Mrs Della Hall	Parent	15/10/2019 – 14/10/2023	Elected by parent body		1/3	Premises Teaching & Learning N/A			Term started in October 2019
Ms Nicola Martin	Staff	06/01/2020 – 05/01/2022	Elected by staff		3/3	N/A			Term started in January 2020
Ms Mary Nagel	Foundation	06/01/2020 – 05/01/2024	Appointed by Diocese		3/3	N/A		Nil	Term started in January 2020
Mrs Pauline O'Hare	Co-Opted	09/10/2017 – 08/10/2021		Deputy Chair Heads Appraisal	4/4	Finance Staffing Premises	2/2	Nil	
Mrs Rose Savage	Local Authority	16/12/2013 – 15/12/2021	Confirmed by LA	Heads Appraisal	4/4	Teaching & Learning		Nil	
Mrs Teresa Smyth	Staff	01/09/2018 – 31/12/2019	Elected by staff		1/1				Resigned from post at the end of 2019
Mrs Lucy Stent	Parent	15/10/2019 – 14/10 2023	Elected by parent body		1/3				Term started in October 2019
Mrs Pasha Delahunty	Clerk	01/04/2019			3/4			Nil	

⁺The Committee structure of the school was changed in January 2020. Only the Finance & Staff Committee continued to meet after this change.
*Attendance during previous academic year to 20/07/2020